Not all parishes use all colors. The colors indicate the season or occasion of the Church year. Colors are coordinated between stole, altar frontal, chasuble, dalmatic/tunicle, cope, and mitre. The use of colors is a convention dating back centuries. The colors listed below are those used in the western churches.

Use on All Souls’ Day and at a requiem. (Not used at Grace.)
Blue may be a light sky blue (Marian Blue) used at feasts of Our Lady, or a medium dark blue (Sarum Blue) used in some churches in Advent. (Sarum Blue is not used at Grace.)
Gold is considered white.
Used during the season after Pentecost (“ordinary time”).
Considered to a penitential color, and used in Advent and Lent.
Used at Palm Sunday, Pentecost, and feasts of martyrs. The reference is double: to the spilling of blood and to the descent of the Holy Spirit (as fire).
A medium pink used one Sunday in Advent and one Sunday in Lent when the penitential disciplines are relaxed. (Rose is not used at Grace.) In times past the third Sunday of each penitential season was one on which disciplines were relaxed (hence a lighter violet). Under modern practice and piety, all Sundays are considered to be feast days and penitential disciplines do not, therefore, apply on Sundays.
The color used at Easter, and in the season of Eastertide, at the feasts of major saints, at high holy days (e.g., Ascension), and at funerals (in reference to Easter resurrection).
This is a multi-colored pattern that is considered to be green.

GEC Podcasts Delivered to Your Email

Enter your email address: